Georgia linebacker Roquan Smith recognized as Collegiate Athlete of the Year. In the 2017-2018 season Roquan Smith led his team in total stops 137 and was the first Georgia player to win the Butkus Award given to the nation’s top linebacker.


Rolando McClain then CJ Mosley then Reuben Foster 2009 2013 and 2016 won the Butkus Award for Alabama as the top linebacker before Roquan Smith broke this up.


Roquan Smith besides being the # 8 NFL Draft signee of Chicago Bears in the first round and being SEC Defensive Player of the Year had 6 and a half sacks and 14 tackles for a loss in his 137 tackles 2017-2018 season.


2 pass break-ups a forced fumble and 2 fumble recoveries along with 20 quarterback hurries set Roquan Smith apart.


Roquan Smith was not even going to come to Georgia but to UCLA.


Boy did UCLA mess up.